Manage access rights of users and groups

The "Users" section in the "Home" menu lists all users and groups with their current access roles and rights in the workspace. 

Note

  • For understanding user access levels and rights, please read here.
  • Users' access levels and rights are managed per workspace. So, make sure you are logged into the right workspace.
  • To manage access levels and rights, you must be the Admin or Manager level user.
  • Only groups for which access right management is enabled are listed (see enable access right management for a group).

In the table header of the "Users" section, you can use the search option to look for a specific user or group. 

The person who created the project is the project owner, she/he is indicated by the "Crown" icon and set to the Admin level user by default. All added users are defaulted to the Regular User level (Admin OFF and Manager OFF) with defaulted Manage access rights to all sections: "Activities", "Participants", "Documents", and "Resources". You can afterwards manage users' roles and their access rights to all sections.

Groups are marked with a blue header bar in their group image. It is not possible to give groups the Admin or Manager access levels, but you can manage access rights of groups to all sections: "Activities", "Participants", "Documents", and "Resources". 

By managing access levels and rights of users and groups, you are able to modify what users and group members can see and change in a project workspace. 

Set and update user's access role

1

Click  Users in Home menu to open the "Users" section.

2

Find the user which access role needs to be updated and adjust the "Admin" and "Manager" toggles to set the new access role. 

  • Toggle "Admin" to ON to activate the Admin role or toggle "Manager" to ON to activate the Manager role. There can only be one of them activated.
  • Toggle both "Admin" and "Manager" to OFF to deactivate the Admin and Manager roles. Then the user will get the Regular User role with defaulted Manage access rights to all sections. You can now define specific access rights of the user per section or per workspace item.
Note: Read here how to transfer workspace ownership to another user.

Set and update access rights for sections

With this option you can set the precise access rights of a user / group to each of the sections: "Activities", "Participants", "Documents", and "Resources". Then the user / group gets either  Manage, Edit, Read, or Off access rights to all items in this section.

Note: To manage group access rights, first enable access right management for a group.
1

Click Users in Home menu to open the "Users" section.

2

Find the user / group which access rights need to be updated and make sure the "Admin" and "Manager" access role is OFF. 

3

Click the dropdown list at a section and choose relevant access right for the user / group for all items in this section (read more about the definition of access rights).

4

To confirm the update of the access right, click Yes in the appeared dialog. 

Tip: If you change the role to Admin or  Manager from OFF to ON, the rights at sections level are saved and restored when you change back to the Regular User role.

Set and update access rights for specific items

With this option you can refine access rights of a user / group to specific items in the workspace. This is available for all items in the "Activities", "Participants", and "Documents" sections (not applicable for "Resources"). You can set the custom access rights of a user / group to specific items in a sidebar or in the "Users" section as described below.

Note: To manage group access rights, first enable access right management for a group.
1

Click Users in Home menu to open the "Users" section.

2

Find the user / group which access rights need to be updated and make sure the toggle "Admin" and "Manager" role is OFF.

3

Click Refine at a section where the item to which the user requires specific access rights is located.

4

Define custom rights for specific items and click Save changes. You need to set access rights at the item level only in the case when the access rights for some items shall be different from the rights at the section level. For example, a user with Manage access rights at a section level and Off access rights to WP1 will have Manage access rights to all items in the section except WP1 to which the user will have no access.

Tip: You can use the search option to quickly look for specific items.

5

The access rights are updated, hover over Refine to see the current set of defined custom rights for certain items (for all other items in the section, the section level access rights apply).

Tip: If you change the role to Admin or  Manager from OFF to ON, the custom access rights at items are saved and restored when you change back to the Regular User role. If you change the section level access, the custom access rights at items are reset according to the new section level access.  
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.