Manage groups and members

  • You must be a Admin, Manager level user or the Group Manager to manage a group. Only Admin and Manager level users can create new groups.
  • All users can access the 'Groups' section, view available groups, join open groups and request to join restricted groups (see 'Join or leave a group'). 

During a project lifetime, you can update groups properties and add/remove groups members. Click here to read how to create a group.

To manage groups, go to 'Groups' section of the 'Home' menu. 

You will see a sortable and searchable table of all groups with details as name, members, group manager, email address, access level, short name, description and tags. With the + icon at the top right of the table you can hide/unhide columns.  

To find a group, use the column headers' search fields or click on any column header to change the sorting.

Please follow the instructions below for one of the available options:

Add group member(s)

1

Go to the 'Groups' section of the 'Home' menu. Open the group (click on the row or select 'Edit' from the action menu at the right end of the row). The group sidebar will appear.

2

Select the 'Member' icon in the sidebar. The members list will appear. 

3

Select the 'Add members' button above the 'Members' table in the sidebar. A list of non-members will appear. 

3

Tick the checkbox(es) at the member(s) to be added and confirm with the 'Add Member' button. The selected user(s) will be added.

Tip
  • Enter keywords into the search field above to filter the list for the relevant users
  • Invited users whose project acceptance is still pending are included in the members list and can already be added to a group.  
4

Select the 'Save Group' button to save your changes.

Remove group member(s)

1

Go to the 'Groups' section of the 'Home' menu. Open the group (click on it or select 'Edit' from the action menu at the right end of the row). The group sidebar will appear.

2

Select the 'Member' icon in the side bar. The members list will appear.

3

Select the 'Member' icon in the side bar. The members list will appear. 

4

Hover over the row of the member(s) to be removed and tick the checkbox(es) at the left end. Repeat for relevant members.

4
Click the 'cross' button appeared in table header.

4
Select the 'Save Group' button to save your changes.

Approve requests to join a restricted group

1

Go to the 'Groups' section of the 'Home' menu and look for groups with pending request(s) in the 'Member' column:

2

Open the group (click on it or select 'Edit' from the action menu at the right end of the row). The group sidebar will appear.

3

Select the 'Member' icon in the side bar. The members list will appear. 

4

Scroll down to the 'Pending Requests' list, and accept or decline using the cross or check buttons for all user requests.

4
Select the 'Save Group' button to save your changes.

Update group properties

1

Go to the 'Groups' section of the 'Home' menu. Open the group (click on it or select 'Edit' from the action menu at the right end of the row). 

2

 The group sidebar will appear.

Update:

  • Group name: Click and update the blue group name.
  • Short name (optional): Click into the field and update the short name.  
  • Short description (optional): Type a description for your group.
  • Group Image (optional): Click on the group image or 'Select or drop group image' (if no image available yet). Browse to where the new image file is stored and select 'Open'. You can also drag/drop the file over here. 
  • Group Manager: Click on the drop down to select another user. There can only be one group manager per group.
  • Access Level: Switch to 'Open' (users can join / leave without approval) or 'Restricted' (users need Group Manager's approval to join / leave). 
  • Private: Toggle to hide/unhide the group from all non-group members (apart from Admins and Managers).
  • Enable Group Mail (optional: Toggle to enable/disable the mailing list option for the group. If enabled, the 'Email Address' field will appear. Enter or update the part before the @ symbol (local-part), e.g. geniusfame-all-user@groups.emdesk.com.

    Note:

    • The email address must not include unsupported characters and the length is min. 3, max. 63.
    • The email address must be unique throughout the domain @groups.emdesk.com and is subject availability. 
    • The email address domain is fixed and cannot be changed.
    • By default, all users of the group will have the right to send and receive emails. To update these rights, please see the 'Mailing list option for groups'.
  • Enable Group Rights (optional): Enable the group rights option for a group to start managing access rights for all group members at group level.

    Note: Access rights for groups are set to 'Manage All' for all sections by default. All group members will inherit the access rights set for this group. Go to the 'User' to adjust the access rights. (see 'Roles, access levels and access rights')

  • Tags: Click in and type in additional tags. Click on your individual tag or choose from the suggested list of available tags. Click X at a tags to remove it.
3
Select the 'Save Group' button to save your changes.

Delete a group

1

Go to the 'Groups' section of the 'Home' menu. Open the group (click on it or select 'Edit' from the action menu at the right end of the row). The group sidebar will appear.

2

Click the three dotted button on the top left of the sidebar to open the action menu. Then select 'Delete' and confirm with 'Yes' the dialog box.

  • The group is deleted irreversible. The group will no longer display in the 'Group' or 'User' section and message via mailing lists no longer processed
Tip: You can also delete a group using the action menu at the right end of a group row in the 'Group' section.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us