Manage users

You must be an Admin or a Manager level user, to manage users' roles and access rights (see ' About roles and access rights').

During a project lifetime, users can be added, deactivated or removed. All project users are listed in the 'User' section. 

In addition, you can also see groups in the user list - shown by a blue G bar above the group profile image - in order to manage group access rights. To read more about groups, see 'About groups', 'Create groups' and 'Manage groups and members'.

You can use the search option in the table header to filter by keywords (handy if you are looking for a specific user or group). 

Note:
  • You can manage the project membership and access rights of users. You cannot update any personal information or account data of users. Each individual user can update their account data in their user settings.
  • Managing users must be done separately for each of your projects.

Scroll down to find out more about managing users, or select a link to go straight to a specific section:

Click here to read how to invite and add new users and how manage users roles and access right.

Pending invitation

When you send an invite to a user, they will be listed in the 'User' section with an 'i' icon (indicating the pending status). Once the user has accepted your invite, the 'i' icon will no longer display and you will see the user contact details instead.

Resend invites

1
Go to the 'User' section, and look for the user with pending invitation in the list.
2
Click the action menu at the end of the user row (three small dots).
3
Select the 'Resend'.

Tip: The link in the mail invite is valid for 7 days. After this time, or if the user has misplaced the original email, you can resend an invite. 

Remove users

1
Go to the 'User' section, and look for the user to be removed.
2
Click the action menu at the end of the user row (three small dots).
3
Select the 'Remove' and confirm the dialog with 'Yes'.

Note:

  • When you remove users, they will no longer have access to the project, but users input, actions and logs until that time are retained.
  • You cannot undo this action. The user must be invited again as a new user and accept your invite to re-gain project access.

Deactivate or reactivate users

You can deactivate project access for selected users temporally, but still keep them linked to the project. 

1
To deactivate, click the action menu (three small dots at the end of the user row) and select the 'Deactivate' option. ('Activate' will only show for deactivated users).

2
To reactivate deactivated users, click the action menu (three small dots at the end of the user row) and select the 'Activate' option.

Note: Deactivated users will no longer have access to the project work space, not receive email notifications on the project and not be able to send or receive mails through group email addresses.

User requests to join a project 

Other EMDESK users accessing any project URL cannot enter the project and will see an error page with a button 'Request project access'. By clicking this button users can send a request to join the project. These requests are are listed in the 'User' section, marked with with an 'i' icon by their name (indicating that they have a pending status).

Approve or reject user requests to join

1
To approve to the user access request, click the action menu (three small dots at the end of the user row).
2
Select the 'Approve' or the 'Reject and Remove' (to reject) as appropriate.
Note: External users requesting project access will have no access until it is approved. The user will receive an email notification of the action you took in response to their request.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us